Home / All Our Yesterdays

All Our Yesterdays

All Our Yesterdays

  “All Our Yesterdays is smart, funny, and poignant — a warm-hearted and     simultaneously chilling reminder of where we’ve been and where we’ve got to.  A wonderful read.”
— Robert Reich, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the UC Berkeley and former Secretary of Labor

 A generational saga of romance, lust, friendship, hatred, enduring loyalty, and sudden betrayal, All Our Yesterdays follows a small group of friends and lovers in Berkeley, California from their student days in 1968 to the present.  Along the way, they deal with revolutionary changes in politics and sexual mores, personal crises and historical upheavals.  In the tradition of Flaubert’s Sentimental Education and Updike’s Rabbit cycle, with a nod to The Big Chill, this coming of age story is an engaging tale of love and friendship.


“Occasionally an all-cylinders novel comes along and All Our Yesterdays is definitely such a creation. It touches and then goes slowly deeper and deeper into the special time and place called Berkeley. The characters are rounded and real. The story has both meaning and zip with plenty of opportunities to laugh or cry—or shout. It really is the novel with everything—for everybody who loves a good read, accomplished writing and insight into what matters.”

—Jim Lehrer, Executive Editor, PBS NewsHour

“If you are old enough and were engaged enough to remember when people thought their social activism could create a utopian world of peace and love, you will love this book.  If you wonder how all that hope turned to violence you will find clues here. If you weren’t around to debate and then wonder about those questions you will love it anyway.  And, in the process, you may learn something about the zeitgeist of the late ’60’s, and also something about life and love. “

—Sam Brown, organizer of the Vietnam Moratorium, former head of the Federal ACTION Agency, and Ambassador to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe